Monday, October 12, 2009

Elinor Ostrom, the first woman to claim Nobel Prize for economics

The 2009 Nobel Prize for economics was awarded to the Americans Elinor Ostrom and Oliver Williamson, the Nobel Committee announced Monday. Nobel Prize for economics has a history of 40 years and Elinor Ostrom is the first woman winning this prize. Ostrom, a professor of political sciences at Indiana University was awarded "for her analysis of economic governance, especially the commons". Oliver Williamson is a professor in the graduate school at the University of California, Berkeley and he was praised "for his analysis of economic governance, especially the boundaries of the firm". Both professors' research has much in common at "an abstract level, still their methods are different", Ellingsen declared.
The glocal financial crisis did not influence the deliberation of the Nobel Committee because the Nobel Prize"tend to be not the work for the last year" committee member Beril Holmlund said.


Enter a long URL to make tiny:

  © InfoWebExplore Amsterdam 2009 by Daniel Irimia

Back to TOP